A lifestyle blog.

On Hair

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 7.59.58 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 8.29.36 PM

 

In my opinion, taking care of your hair is just as important as eating healthy and working out. When your hair is as long as I have mine right now it really makes a difference in what products you use and how you maintain it. My hair is one of my favorite things about myself but it hasn’t always been that way. In 7th grade I NEEDED to have that surfer girl bleach blonde hair. My hair is naturally a dirty blonde color but has a lot of red undertones to it so when I dyed it a store bought platinum blonde color it basically turned to the color and texture of straw (and let’s be honest who didn’t also use sun-in when they were in middle school). I spend about two years trying grow my natural hair color back and another two years after that trying to locate and destroy every picture taken of me during that time period.

I now get partial highlights every few months, only to enhance my natural color. I have had a multitude of different cuts in the past few years, my junior year of high school my hair was so long my friends joked about me being amish, no lie. Summer before my sophomore year of college I chopped my hair a whopping 10 inches (not intentionally, the hair stylist did NOT cut it like the picture of Lauren Conrad I showed her). I now know the importance of having a cut that works with my hair type and layers have truly saved me from my rapunzel looking long locks. I would say that my relationship with my hair is in a really good place right now and I am thankful to have made those painful mistakes early in life before facebook existed.

Wash– Pureology makes great products for color treated hair. I use the Perfect 4 Platinum shampoo and conditioner and it has made my hair a lot stronger and less prone to breakage.

Deep Condition– I am a huge fan of Trader Joe’s and they also make one of the best Coconut Oils that I have tried for a very reasonable price. I will wash my hair and let it almost completely dry then run some warm water over the jar to soften the oil then apply to my hair and let it sit for about a half hour. If you have oily hair try only applying this only at the ends. Rinse out completely then shampoo condition normally. I like to do this 1-2 times a week.

Protect– This is one of my favorite products and one of the few things that I actually use on my hair. My hair can get weighed down by product very easily. I apply just a little to my damp hair before I blow dry it and it keeps it soft and protected from harshness of heat styling. Although pricey, Kerastase makes wonderful products that are totally worth the splurge.

Control– The best hairspray I have come across. Seriously just try it.

Tie– These little babies are the best invention ever. They keep your ponies crease free and look cute on your wrist. I love Emi-Jay ones but you can also score about 50 of these on Etsy for less than $20.

Wand– This is what I use to curl / wave my hair. Be carefully not to twist or rope your hair around this, it will come out looking like little snakes (not cute). Rather flatten the section of hair between two fingers and role it around the wand, hold for 10-15 seconds and spray after. Voilà, perfectly tousled waves.

Pin– My hair resists all bobby pins, it is simply too heavy and falls the second I put them in. About a year ago I was in Sally’s Beauty Supply store and stumbled upon heavy duty gold bobby pins that hold my hair like a dream.

Sparkle– Anthropologie is known for their amazing headbands and they are perfect for the I-haven’t-washed-my-hair-in-a-week days where you still need to look socially acceptable without having to do that pesky little task of washing your hair.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

