A lifestyle blog.

Contouring Tutorial

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 10.43.48 AM

One of my favorite makeup techniques is contouring. What is contouring you might ask? Contouring is a way of applying bronzer, blush, and highlighter so that your face appears slimmer and more defined. This has become part of my daily routine and I get asked by my friends all the time how I do this look and what products I use. I don’t often do dramatic eye makeup so this is a good way to create an everyday polished look and minimal eye makeup, keeping it looking fresh and natural.

IMG_5301

My favorite contouring brush is the Sigma F05 small contour brush. It is super easy to work with and applies product exactly where you want it. I have been using the Real Techniques blush brush lately and it’s perfect for applying just the right amount of blush. Benefit’s Hoola bronzer gives a perfect healthy glow. MAC Mineralize skin finish in Medium Deep is a great contouring powder, it has a matte finish but isn’t too heavy or cakey. I use MAC blush in Prism for more definition and MAC blush in Well Dressed to add a pinch of color on the cheeks. NYX blush in Terra Cotta gives a gorgeous bronze highlight just above the cheeks.

Step 1. Making a fishy face so you can see your cheekbone definition, use a large kabuki type brush to apply a broad sweep of bronzer making a “3” rotation from your forehead to your cheekbones and then under your chin just to warm up the face a little bit.

bronzer

Step 2. Using the contouring brush, apply the MAC mineralize powder to the same 3 area- forehead, under the cheekbones, and the jaw line. Be sure to go all the way into the hairline with the powder.

mineralizeforehead

Apply to the forehead

mineralize

Apply powder just under the cheekbones

mineralizechin

Apply at the jaw line

Step 3. Using the same contour brush apply the MAC Prism blush to the area directly under the cheekbone and to the sides of the nose.

macprism

noseblend

Step 4. Making a big smile to expose the apple of the cheeks, apply blush starting at the apple and moving the brush backwards towards the hairline.

blush

Step 5. Apply the NYX blush to the area just above the cheekbones. Don’t be fooled by the dark color, it comes out as a gorgeous sheer bronze color and really adds a nice finishing touch.

NYXhighlighter

Step 6. Taking the kabuki brush, lightly blend everything together.

final blend

And viola! Contouring is as easy as that. It can be done so many different ways and with many different products but this is what works for me and I hope it works for you too 🙂

2 Responses to “Contouring Tutorial”

  1. HeatherBelle12

    I have been looking EVERYWHERE for a contouring brush that I would love and that F05 seems to be it! I love Sigma brushes, and I know I think I need to add this one to my collection. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

