A lifestyle blog.

Truffle and Lobster Mac and Cheese

IMG_4732

I recently purchased some white truffle oil from Fresh Market and have been dying to use it in a recipe. I didn’t want to use it in just anything because I absolutely LOVE truffles and I didn’t want to taint my love in any way by using it in just any old recipe. Surprisingly, with my love of cheese, I have never made homemade mac and cheese before mostly because it is not really something I eat all that often. The combination of cheese and pasta can be so heavy sometimes. Not to toot my own horn, but this might have been one of the best dishes I have ever made. My boyfriend Tom who doesn’t particularly like the truffle taste LOVED this meal and my roommates couldn’t get enough. I will definitely be making this again soon. A Trader Joe’s recently opened not very far from where I live and I bought most of the ingredients for this meal there. I was really impressed with the quality and selection of cheese and I think it made a big difference in the success of this meal and let’s be honest… Who doesn’t love two buck chuck?!

Ingredients

– 3 tablespoons white truffle oil

– 4 table spoons flour

– 3/4 cup panko bread crumbs

– 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

– half stick of unsalted butter

– fully cooked lobster meat (as much as your budget allows!)

– 1/4 cup grated fontina cheese

– 1/4 cup grated cheddar cheese

– 1/4 cup grated swiss cheese

– 2 cups half and half

– 1 tablespoon dijon mustard

– salt and pepper to taste

– 1 package elbow macaroni

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 and mix the panko, parmesan and 1 tbs of the truffle oil in a bowl and set aside.

2. (If lobster is not already cooked) Heat a saucepan on medium and add a pad of butter and a splash of olive oil. Once skillet is hot, add the lobster meat and cook until no longer translucent and let aside.

3. Using a mandolin slicer, grate the fontina, swiss, and cheddar cheese and set aside.

4. Start boiling water in a pasta pot and cook the pasta according to package instructions.

5. In a saucepan, melt the butter and whisk in the flour until a paste forms. Whisk in half and half and bring to a simmer, cooking for 3 minutes.

6. Stir in the cheese and lobster until melted and add the salt and pepper to taste. Mix in the cooked and drained pasta and combine.

7. Transfer the mac and cheese into a buttered casserole dish and top with the panko mixture. Bake for 25-30 min until top is golden brown.

8. Enjoy and share with friends!

 

IMG_4735

IMG_4738

IMG_4741

IMG_4742

IMG_4743

IMG_4744

IMG_4746

IMG_4747

IMG_4748

IMG_4751

IMG_4752

IMG_4755

 

* The original recipe I followed is from Leite’s Culinaria and can be found here. I made a few of my own modifications but this amazing food blog gave me the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

