A lifestyle blog.

Simple Coq Au Vin Recipe

Coq Au Vin is definitely up there on my top all time favorite dishes. It is so hearty and definitely the perfect comfort food. My mom and I always eat at a great French bistro on Christmas Eve and it is my tradition to order this meal. I finally took the plunge and decided to recreate this meal at home. I made a crock pot version and it was so easy and left my house smelling amazing. I even did all of the preparations the night before and all I had to do in the morning was turn the crock pot on. I put it over egg noodles and had a delicious date night meal and plenty of leftovers.

Ingredients

– 8 boneless skinless chicken thighs
– Salt
– Pepper
– 3 table spoons flour
– 4 slices of bacon
– 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
– 1 package baby bella mushrooms, quartered
– 1 package baby carrots
– 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
– 2 cloves garlic, chopped
– 1 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
– 1 1/2 cup red wine – a pinot noir
– 2 large sprigs of thyme

Directions

1. Arrange chicken on waxed paper. Season with salt and pepper on both sides and lightly coat with flour.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat and cook bacon. Drain bacon and set aside.

3. In the same skillet, melt 2 tablespoons of butter and cook chicken until lightly browned all over- about 3 minutes per side. Transfer to a large plate and set aside.

4. Still using the same skillet add the remaining tablespoon of butter and add mushrooms until edges start to brown. Add remaining veggies and add a pinch of salt. Cook until softened.

5. Add veggies and broth to the crock pot, arrange the chicken on top and sprinkle with the bacon. Add the wine and place the thyme sprigs on top.

6. Cook on low for 6-7 hours.

*I served this over egg noodles, which I just followed the package directions to cook. It is perfectly delicious just by itself but extra hearty served over the noodles.

My kitchen companion patiently waiting for something to fall from the counter
Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

