A lifestyle blog.

Conviviality of the Table: Thanksgiving Brunch

Living in my first “big girl” house definitely has its advantages. My favorite perk of being a grown up is having a space to properly entertain. I inherited a dining room table from boyfriend who was moving into a new place and no longer needed it. It definitely needs some love and I will eventually refinish it but for now it does the job. A proper dining room table has always been something really important to me and I lucked out scoring one that didn’t cost me a thing. On Thanksgiving morning I invited my dad and my aunt to come over for a little brunch before the big feast. I just put out some of our favorite bites, prosciutto and melon, brie and fig jelly, fruit salad, pumpkin donuts, and a delicious frittata. I also had some pumpkin bread baking in the oven to take to dinner later in the day. I’ve never made a frittata or pumpkin bread before and after researching some recipes of my own, I came up with my own creations and to my luck they both came out pretty tasty! See recipes for my andouille sausage frittata and pumpkin bread below.

Andouille Sausage Frittata
The spread!
Scented glittered pine cones in a vase for some festive decor.

Andouille Sausage Frittata

– 2 russet potatoes peeled and thinly sliced
– 1/2 yellow onion diced
– 2 handfuls fresh spinach
– 2 links of Andouille Sausage, chopped into small bits
– 2 cloves of garlic
– 5 eggs
– 1/2 cup of milk
– Vegetable oil
– Salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 450 and mix the sliced potatoes in a bowl with about 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil and a pinch of salt and pepper. Coat evenly and arrange on a cookie sheet. Bake in oven for 8 minutes. Remove and turn oven down to 350.

2. Cook the sausage in the pan according to package directions and set aside on a plate

3. With the pan still hot from the sausage, add about a tablespoon of oil and saute the onion for about 2 minutes on medium heat. Add the garlic and spinach until spinach has wilted. Move mixture to a plate and set aside.

4. Beat the eggs and milk in a mixing bowl, add another pinch of salt and pepper. Mix in the sausage and vegetable mixtures

5. In a glass pie dish, arrange the potatoes at the bottom and pour the egg mixture on top

6. Bake for 35-40 minutes, let cool for at least 15 minutes and serve!

Best Ever (and easiest!) Pumpkin Bread

– 4 egg yolks
– 1 cup oil
– 2/3 cup water
– 1 can pumpkin puree
– 3 cups sugar
– 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
– 1 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon nutmeg
– 2 teaspoons baking soda
– 3 1/2 cups flour

1. Preheat oven to 350

2. Mix together the wet ingredients first, add the dry ingredients and mix well

3. Pour into greased loaf pans, bake for 1 hour

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

