A lifestyle blog.

BB Cream Review

BB Creams (beauty balm) have been popping all over the cosmetics department recently and being the curious soul that I am I have decided to give them a whirl. BB Creams claim to be an all in one primer, moisturizer, foundation and sunscreen. They became popular in Asian countries for their skin whitening properties and have caught on with beauty enthusiasts in the US. I normally wear MAC studio fix foundation in NW20 everyday and I knew that the BB creams wouldn’t provide as heavy coverage as my MAC foundation so I did also apply concealer, powder and a little bit of bronzer over top of them.

I wouldn’t wear BB creams in place of my regular foundation. I found that they are a perfect solution for those days when I don’t feel like doing my normal makeup routine yet I still want some coverage and protection.

*Beware of the extremely up close and personal pictures of my face below!*

This is my face with my normal routine using MAC studio fix foundation.

1. The first BB Cream I tried was from L’Oreal Studio Secrets Magic BB Cream. The texture was a little grainy and this was the only cream that I tried that was not a skin tone out of the bottle, it is self adjusting. I really liked this BB cream and I have since used it after I bought it for this review. 

2. The second BB cream I tried was Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfecter BB Cream. This was not one of my favorites. As you can tell from the picture the texture was much thicker and had a muddy feel to it. For the heaviness of it I didn’t find that it provided sufficient coverage and my skin became oily much faster throughout the day with this one. It also has a strong scent which I do not mind but I know that can be a deciding factor for some folks.

3. The third BB cream I tried was Boscia BB Cream SPF 27. Although this is a flesh color, it does self adjust and I found that it did closely match my skin however I didn’t find anything better about this one than the drugstore L’Oreal buy. I wasn’t overly impressed by it but I did receive it in my BirchBox this month so I thought it would be worth the try.

4. The last BB Cream I tried was Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream. This is my favorite product out of the ones that I tested. I felt like this product embodies what BB cream is said to do- it provides sufficient coverage with sufficient moisture and the protection of sunscreen. The texture is super creamy and applies really easily. The only downside is there is a strong sunscreen scent and I had to apply a little more bronzer to even out the whitening effect.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

