A lifestyle blog.

Crossfit

If you stumbled across this post looking for a yummy recipe or a beauty tip, you may be severely disappointed. People ask me what I do to stay in shape all the time. My answer is simple- CrossFit. I starting cross-fitting (no that is not a real word, I just like to call it that) a little over a year ago and I haven’t been back to a regular gym since. I have been to every boot camp there is and this is nothing like it. The next question I usually get is “what is that?” The best way I know how to explain CrossFit is a highly addictive form of torture. KIDDING! CrossFit is a mix between strength, stamina, balance, and flexibility training. The daily “WODS” (workout of the day) are never the same, and they are always somewhat random. There is never a “legs” day or an “upper body” day which makes it pretty much impossible to ever get bored with it. A typical WOD could be something like this-

60 Wall Balls
50 Pullups
40 Burpees
30 Box Jumps
500m row

One of the best things about CrossFit it that they honor fallen hero’s by naming WOD’s after them. Some popular Fallen Hero WOD’s are – Helen, Fran, Bradley, and possibly one of the toughest WOD’s, Murph, which is-

1 mile run
100 pull ups
200 push ups
300 squats
1 mile run

My mom started doing CrossFit a few months before me and she kept begging and begging me to try it but from the few things I had heard about it, it sounded really intimidating and definitely not for me. But I thought if I can last an entire 90 minutes of Bikram yoga in a 105 degree room I can pretty much do anything. I had never lifted anything before let alone do a “push press” or a “thruster.” I had this deathly fear that the bar was going to crush me if I lifted it above my head. I quickly learned the importance of proper technique and figured out that is the trick to getting the most out of CrossFit. 


The most important thing to remember is that IT IS NOT A COMPETITION! One of the things I love about CrossFit is that everybody in the class is a different age group and fitness level. The workouts are what you make of them no one is going to tell you that you have to do something. CrossFit is truly a lifestyle and an ongoing learning process. I learn something new about the sport or myself every single class. 


I encourage you to head to your local “box” (that is fancy CrossFit lingo for a giant warehouse where they have CrossFit classes) and join in, or just observe a class. 


I workout at CrossFit CityPlace in West Palm Beach and The Training Box in Estero. Hope to see you there!


 *WARNING* Stop reading now to avoid seeing me in sweaty gym attire. I normally look slightly more presentable outside of the gym but I refuse to be one of those girls who wears makeup to the gym… I will never understand that.

At the bottom of a “thruster”


Burpees… Not fun.
Mid box jump
Last Halloween’s themed workout
How we spent Mother’s Day!

2 Responses to “Crossfit”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

