A lifestyle blog.

Cocktail Culture

This past Sunday on my day off, I had planned on spending the day basking in the sun at the beach. As it usually goes with such plans, I woke up to rainy 65 degree weather. I can’t complain though, I had a lovely brunch with my dad at Bradley’s and then we took a spontaneous trip to the Norton Museum of Art to see the Cocktail Culture exhibit. This exhibit was installed in December and recently extended to April which I was so happy about because I didn’t want to miss it while I have been away at school. The cocktail aspect of the exhibit was interesting but I mostly gawking at the amazingly preserved cocktail attire from the 1920’s to the 1990’s by designers such as Balenciaga, Alexander McQueen, Lanvin, Yves Saint Laurent, Valentino, and accessories by Tiffany, Judith Leiber, Christian Dior, Van Cleef & Arpel, and Kenneth Jay Lane. It was to die for. It really came in handy having a dad who is close to 6 foot 5 to hide behind and snap as many pictures as I could without the guard seeing! I am the worst museum visitor ever. I break every rule and take pictures of everything. (At the Vatican in the Sistine Chapel, I turned my flash off and snapped as many pictures with my camera flipped up at my waist. I got one really amazing picture without my face in it of God and Adam touching that now rests in a frame on my desk, I was approached by a security guard and had to pretend I didn’t speak English to get out of there without paying the eight thousand euro fine!) Regardless, it was a fascinating exhibit and I am so happy I got to see it.

The museum’s glass ceiling installation- I could stare at this for hours.
The 1950’s- I love this era of woman’s fashion.
OBSESSED with this purple dress. I was too busy trying to take the picture I missed who the designer was. It is stunning.
The 1990’s- the Sex and the City era.
Miu Miu booties

I love these Miu Miu booties. They still make this same exact style almost 10 years later and I have always been so taken with them on the shelves of Saks. I always thought they were way to wacky for me but maybe this is a sign that I should go for it!

Alexa Chung, Kate Bosworth, Diane Kruger, Dasha Zhukova, Mischa Barton, and Anna Dello Russo have all sported these beauties.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

