A lifestyle blog.

Conviviality of the Table: Dad’s Scalloped Potatoes

I not sure when or how my dad started making these, all I know is that they are the most dreamy, cheesy, amazingly delicious scalloped potatoes EVER! When my dad asks what I want for dinner, I always say the potatoes and he just knows which ones I am talking about. When I went off to college and realized that Sunday night dinners at the Stapleton compound would become few and far between, I took it upon myself to learn how to craft some of the fine things that come out of my dad’s kitchen. These are probably the most valuable thing I picked up. Although, no matter how many times I watch him make things, they never taste as good as they do when he makes them. Here is the recipe for the most amazing potato product your will ever eat-

*Ingredients*

I really don’t measure things, so everything is a roughly estimated!

– 4 peeled and thinly sliced medium size potatoes (You could probably use 3 large ones but I bought the pack of 4 medium sized ones at Publix, they were less expensive and just the right amount. Also, using a mandolin slicer is much easier and slices must thinner than slicing with a knife however I don’t own one so I do it the old fashion way!)

– 3 cloves of minced garlic

– 1 cups worth of freshly chopped chives

– 1 teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg (not the powder, you can buy the nutmeg whole at Publix and use a cheese grater to shave it)

– A few pinches of salt and LOTS of black pepper (my dad looooooves black pepper and over douses everything with it)

– 1 and a half cups of freshly grated Parmesan cheese, you can also mix some Gouda in there but that is totally optional. I think my dad will sometimes mix any extra variety of cheese we have laying around the house. You can buy a block of Parmesan cheese by the deli section of Publix, it makes all the difference to freshly grate it yourself.

– Heavy cream, it’s hard to say how much but I would guess maybe 2 cups, just enough to get everything moist and create a soupy like mixture at the bottom

*Directions*

After slicing the potatoes, put them all in a large mixing bowl. Add the chives, garlic, salt, pepper, nutmeg, cheese, and heavy cream. Mix everything so the ingredients are thoroughly distributed. Pour mixture into a square casserole dish, pour over top the extra soup like mixture from the bottom of the bowl, cover with more Parmesan cheese and bake at 375 for 1 hour or until the tops are crispy brown. Let cool for 10-15 minutes and enjoy! (Try and snag a corner piece, they are the best!)

My copy of the recipe
Potatoes ready to be chopped
Thinly slices potatoes- a mandolin slicer works best, this is my best effort without one
Chopped chives & garlic
Everything mixed together
Ready for the oven
An hour later- cheesy potato goodness!
Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

