A lifestyle blog.

My Make-up Bag Essentials

I hate to admit this, but make-up is a very big part of my life. I also hate to admit the fact that I am terrified of trying anything new so these products have been my essentials for just about as long as I have been wearing make-up. I like to keep my look simple and classic, just some foundation with a little blush and bronzer and about one million coats of mascara to get my lashes looking as long as possible. On occasion I will add some liner and shadow if I am feeling fancy!

This is my make-up bag (more like a duffle bag.) I have had it since I was 17 and it is still in perfect condition. It is from one of my favorite stores, Z Gallerie.

I am a huge fan of the Sonia Kashuk for Target line of make-up brushes and I like to display them in a pretty monogram mug from Anthropologie.

If I know I am going to have a long day, I will start with Arbonne Make-Up Primer to keep my face looking fresh as long as possible. I adore MAC Studio Fix Foundation. It lasts all day and has SPF 15 in it. I add some MAC Pressed Powder to set my foundation. The best bronzer and blush that I have found are Bobbi Brown Bronzing Power and MAC Powder Blush. When I get to wearing liner and shadow, I wear MAC Fluidline and Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Compact in bronze. I am pretty sure this is meant to be a bronzer but I have always used it as eye shadow. The best mascara in the world is L’oreal Voluminous Million Lashes which is under $10! My lip gloss of choice is Dior Addict Lip Polish. Perfect amount of shine without the stickiness. Last but not least, I ALWAYS clean my brushes at least twice a week, it keeps them in good shape and keeps the bacteria off of my face. Sephora makes great brush cleaners, but dove soap does the job just as well.

My philosophy about make-up is put best by the one and only Coco Chanel-

“I don’t understand how a woman can leave the house without fixing herself up a little – if only out of politeness. And then, you never know, maybe that’s the day she has a date with destiny. And it’s best to be as pretty as possible for destiny.”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

