A lifestyle blog.

We Heart Your Style, Amanda Brooks!

Every Christmas, my mom always gets me unique and interesting books. Most of them are fashion related and I love to display them in my room to look through when I need some inspiration. This past Christmas, I got the most amazing book by Amanda Brooks.

When I first opened the book, I quickly recognized the pictures from Brooks’ childhood in Palm Beach. I think that is why I identified my style with hers so much because she spent the majority of her childhood growing up roaming Worth Avenue and eating ice cream at Sprinkles, just like I did.

However, her style is much more eclectic and daring than the typical Jack Rogers wearing Palm Beach lady. I love that she admits that some of her fashion choices have been fantastic but others, not so much. She is not afraid to take risks with fashion and that is a quality that I greatly admire. But with natural beauty like hers, she can get away with it.

She now serves as the fashion director at Barney’s New York which she calls her “dream job” but has been connected to names like Diane Von Furstenberg, Tuleh, Patrick Demarchelier, Tod’s, and Roger Vivier. She often contributes to The New York Times and Vogue and has appeared on their best dressed list 5 times. Quite impressive!

Her family’s home in the Adirondack mountains was featured in Vogue this past winter. I love the rustic, family atmosphere of the house. It looks like every little piece in the house has a story to it.

Amanda Brooks is not only a style inspiration to me, but she also inspires me with her successful career. I hope to someday have a “dream job” just like her!

To see the rest of her feature in Vogue
http://www.vogue.com/culture/article/apt-with-lsd-amanda-brooks/

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

